American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists (ACGIH®), your industrial hygiene, environmental, occupational health and safety resource that advances worker health and safety and offers books, conferences, and education and training courses.

Site MapContact UsFAQsHome


AboutProductsMembershipEducationTLV/BEI ResourcesFoundationResources


William Steiger Memorial Award

2015 Awardee

The William Steiger Memorial Award honors individuals from the social/political sphere whose efforts have contributed to advancements in occupational safety and health. Garrett D. Brown, MPH, CIH is this year's Steiger Award recipient for making such contributions.

Mr. Brown retired in January 2014 as the Special Assistant to the Chief of Cal/OSHA, the California Division of Occupational Safety and Health, after 20 years with the agency. From 1993 to 2011, Mr. Brown conducted more than 650 inspections in Alameda County, and as part of statewide teams inspecting California's Central Valley agricultural fields and garment sweatshops in Los Angeles and Orange Counties. Between April 2011 and his retirement, he worked at Cal/OSHA Headquarters in Oakland.

Mr. Brown has spent most of his career advocating for safe and healthy workplaces in the United States and abroad. He has participated in trainings in Indonesia with labor, women's groups, human rights and community-based NGOs and with trade unions and Central American Republics in Guatemala on safety and health issues in the workplace. In 2010, Mr. Brown led a multi-disciplinary team of occupational health professionals to establish the world's first genuinely "no sweat" garment factory in the Dominican Republic. In 2014, Mr. Brown made three trips to Dhaka, Bangladesh to assist with the Accord for Fire and Building Safety, established to protect workers in the country's garment industry. He participated in health and safety training for managers, supervisors, workers, union leaders, and the staff of the Accord itself.

Mr. Brown has received academic and professional awards from the University of California at Berkeley, national and local sections of AIHA, and mostly recently from the United Steel Workers Union's Health and Safety Department in March 2015. Mr. Brown has published numerous articles on global workplace health issues. His articles have appeared in the International Journal of Occupational and Environmental Health (IJOEH), EHS Today (formerly Occupational Hazards), Industrial Safety and Hygiene News, Multinational Monitor, New Labor Forum, New Solutions, Social Justice, and The Synergist.

ACGIH® is pleased to honor Mr. Brown as the recipient of this year's William Steiger Memorial Award.

Previous Award Recipients

  • 1979 — Congressman David R. Obey
  • 1982 — George Taylor (AFL–CIO)
  • 1983 — Edgar L. McGowan, Commissioner of Labor, South Carolina
  • 1984 — Gershon W. Fishbein, Editor, Occupational Health and Safety Letter
  • 1985 — Congressman Joseph M. Gaydos of Pennsylvania
  • 1986 — William G. Philips
  • 1987 — Sheldon Samuels, Director, Health, Safety and Environment, Industrial Union Department, AFL–CIO
  • 1988 — Senator Robert C. Byrd of West Virginia
  • 1989 — Richard F. Boggs, Vice President of Organization Resources Counselors, Inc.
  • 1990 — Joseph A. Kinney, Executive Director of The National Safe Workplace Institute
  • 1991 — David P. Rall, MD, PhD, Director of the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (1971–1990) and Director of the National Toxicology Program (1978–1990)
  • 1992 — Molly J. Coye, MD, Director of the Department of Health Services of the State of California
  • 1993 — J. Donald Millar, MD, DTPH (Lond.), the Assistant Surgeon General and Director of the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
  • 1994 — Eula Bingham, PhD, Professor of Environmental Health; past Director of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration
  • 1995 — Margaret Seminario, Director of Occupational Safety and Health for the AFL–CIO
  • 1996 — James Merchant, MD of the University of Iowa, College of Medicine and Senator Tom Harkin of Iowa
  • 1997 — J. Davitt McAteer, Assistant Secretary for the U.S. Labor Department's Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) and Andrea M. Hricko, Deputy Assistant Secretary for MSHA
  • 1998 — Linda Rae Murray, MD, MPH, Winfield Moody Health Center
  • 1999 — Gerald F. Scannell, Director, National Safety Council; previously Director of the Office of Standards in the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), and Assistant Secretary of Labor for OSHA
  • 2000 — Phil Landrigan, MD, Mount Sinai Medical Center
  • 2001 — James Melius, MD, DrPH
  • 2002 — Congressman George Miller (D-CA) and Congressman Major R. Owens (D-NY)
  • 2003 — Brian Davies, CIH
  • 2004 — John Howard, MD, MPH, JD, LLM
  • 2005 — Ernest Mastromatteo, CD, MD, DPH, DIH, FABPM (Occ Med), CCBOM, MFOM (London)
  • 2006 — Charles E. Adkins, CIH
  • 2007 — Earl Dotter, Photojournalist
  • 2008 — John L. Henshaw, CIH, MPH
  • 2009 — Rosemary Sokas, MD, MSc, MOH
  • 2010 — Scott Schneider, CIH
  • 2011 — Roger Alesbury, MS, FFOH, CFIOSH
  • 2012 — Richard Fairfax, CIH
  • 2013 — David Michaels, PhD, MPH
  • 2014 — Tom O'Connor, MPH

Last update on 04/10/2015. Questions or problems? Please contact us. © 2015 American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists, 1330 Kemper Meadow Drive, Cincinnati, Ohio 45240, 513-742-2020. ACGIH® and related marks are marks of the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Access. ACGIH® Privacy Policy. Site Map.