William D. Wagner Award

2016 Awardee

The William D. Wagner Award, established in 2003, is presented annually to a person in the field of national and international worker health and safety who is an outstanding example of commitment and dedication to the creation and dissemination of occupational exposure values (OEVs). 

The 2016 recipient of the William D. Wagner Award is Martin G. Cherniack, MPH, MD.

Dr. Cherniack is an occupational medicine physician and Professor of Medicine at the University of Connecticut Health Center.  He has worked as an academic physician and investigator for the past 34 years, beginning his career at NIOSH and subsequently serving as a faculty member in the Department of Medicine at Yale Medical School from 1986-1995.  Since his time at the University of Connecticut Health Center as Director of the Ergonomics Technology Center, he has had his primary appointments in the Department of Medicine and secondary appointments in public health and the School of Engineering.  Dr. Cherniack has dedicated his life to worker health, from his early work with the mining industry and silicosis, to his work with radiation effects following the Chernobyl disaster and his extensive work in ergonomics and vibration.

He is author of The Hawk’s Nest Incident: America’s Worst Industrial Disaster and serves on a number of committees and boards.  He has been the co-director of the Center for the Promotion of Health in the New England Workplace, a NIOSH funded center of excellence for work life research.  He has been the director of domestic and international studies on hand-arm vibration, the physiology of aging of the workforce, integrated interventions in manufacturing and public sector work forces, ergonomic tool development, and radiation related health effects at Chernobyl. 

Dr. Cherniack joined the ACGIH® Threshold Limit Values for Physical Agents (TLV®-PA) Committee in 2012 and continues to serve.  He has worked tirelessly to promote national and international worker health and safety throughout his professional career.  His advocacy for national and international work health and protection is inspirational and makes him a worthy recipient.  It is with honor that ACGIH® awards him the 2016 William D. Wagner Award.

Previous Award Recipients

  • 2015 — Robert Spirtas, DrPH
  • 2014 — Michael S. Morgan, ScD, CIH
  • 2013 — Thomas S. Tenforde, PhD
  • 2012 — Gerald L. Kennedy
  • 2011 — Karl-Heinz Schaller
  • 2010 — D. Jack Lund
  • 2009 — B. Dwight Culver, MD
  • 2008 — Masayuki Ikeda, PhD, MD
  • 2007 — Gerald V. Coles, CChem
  • 2006 — Ernest Mastromatteo, CD, MD, DPH, DIH, FABPM (Occ Med), CCBOM, MFOM (London)
  • 2005 — Vera F. Thomas, PhD
  • 2004 — Daniel L. Johnson, PhD
  • 2003 — Elizabeth K. Weisburger, ScD, PhD