Press Release

ACGIH® Presents Biomonitoring: Development and Practical Application of Guidance Values Webinar

 

ACGIH® PRESENTS BIOMONITORING: DEVELOPMENT AND PRACTICAL APPLICATION OF GUIDANCE VALUES WEBINAR

Cincinnati, Ohio — May 24, 2007 — ACGIH® presents Biomonitoring: Development and Practical Application of Guidance Values webinar, scheduled for June 27, 2007 at the following times:

North American Time Zones
9:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. (Eastern Time)
8:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. (Central Time)
7:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. (Mountain Time)
6:00 a.m. – 8:30 a.m. (Pacific Time)

European Time Zones
2:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. (British Summer Time)
3:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. (Central European Summer Time)

Asian Time Zones
9:00 p.m. – 11:30 p.m. (Beijing, Shanghai, Singapore)
10:00 p.m. – 12:30 a.m. (Tokyo, Seoul)

Are you effectively controlling exposure to chemicals in your workplace? How do you know your controls are working and being used correctly? Biomonitoring is a practical tool to help you assess dermal absorption, inhalation, ingestion, and the behavioral aspects of control. Collecting biomonitoring samples is a relatively easy process, but how do you interpret what the results mean? This webinar will use solvents like dimethylformamide and glycol ethers to describe health-based limits; and PAHs (polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons) for non-health-based limits. These examples will help to explain how guidance values are developed and their practical applications in the workplace. Approaches to biomonitoring will be presented from the United States and European perspectives. This interactive webinar will also allow for audience participation.

After participating in the webinar, attendees will be able to understand:

  • How organizations develop biological monitoring guidance values
  • The criteria used in setting biological monitoring guidance values
  • Practical use and application of biological monitoring guidance values
  • The strengths and limitations of the guidelines
  • The range between reference and benchmark levels
  • The difficulties of, and approaches to, setting health-based guidance values for carcinogens and sensitizers.

ACGIH® is pleased to offer webinar attendees a new audio option. U.S. and Canadian attendees can connect to the audio portion of the webinar via the toll-free audio telephone link or listen to the audio portion through an audio stream directly to their computer. Other international participants can listen via the audio stream without incurring additional telephone charges.

The presenters for this webinar are Larry Lowry, PhD, John Cocker, PhD and Heiko Kaefferlein, PhD.

Dr. Lowry is Associate Professor of Occupational Health Sciences at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler. Dr. Lowry earned a BS in Chemistry from San Jose State University and a PhD in Comparative Biochemistry from the University of California at Davis. Dr. Lowry is the current Chair of the ACGIH® Biological Exposure Indices (BEI®) Committee. Dr. Lowry will introduce the ACGIH® approach to health-based guidance values and the difficulties with carcinogens.

Dr. Cocker is Head of the Biological Monitoring Section of the Health and Safety Laboratory in the United Kingdom and a member of the ACGIH® Biological Exposure Indices (BEI®) Committee. Dr. Cocker received an MSc in Biochemistry from the University of London and a PhD from the University of London Royal Postgraduate Medical School. Dr. Cocker will discuss the approach taken in the UK to derive guidance values based on good occupational hygiene practice and their practical application.

Dr. Kaefferlein is Head of the Center of Toxicology at the Research Institute of Occupational Medicine of the Statutory Accident Insurances and the Ruhr-University of Bochum, Germany. Dr. Kaefferlein received an MSc in Chemistry and a PhD in Analytical Toxicology from the University of Erlangen, Germany. Dr. Kaefferlein will discuss the German approaches to guidance values with particular emphasis on the differences between the old approach of a biological equivalent to an airborne limit and the new approach to derive health-based limits for carcinogens.

This webinar is pending approval by the American Board of Industrial Hygiene (ABIH) for .5 ABIH (IH) Certification Maintenance (CM) Point. This webinar qualifies for .15 BCSP (SP) Continuation of Certification (COC) Point for Certified Safety Professionals. Participants seeking CM or COC points must attend the live webinar or view the archive and submit a final exam and evaluation. Certificates will be issued in a timely manner after receipt and successful completion of these items.

For more information and to register for this exciting event, visit the ACGIH® website at http://www.acgih.org/events/course/Biomonitor_webinar.htm.

ACGIH® is a member-based organization that advances occupational and environmental health. ACGIH® is one of the industry's leading publications resources, with approximately 400 titles relative to occupational and environmental health and safety, including the renowned TLVs® and BEIs®. For more information, visit the ACGIH® website at www.acgih.org or call our Customer Service Representatives at 513-742-2020.

 

Amy B. Bloomhuff, Esq., CAE
Director of Operations
513-742-6161

abloomhuff@acgih.org