Herbert E. Stokinger Award

2018 Awardee


The Herbert E. Stokinger Award is given each year to an individual who has made a significant contribution in the broad field of industrial and environmental toxicology. This year’s Stokinger Award recipient is Mark D. Hoover, PhD, CHP, CIH.

Dr. Hoover is a senior research scientist in the Respiratory Health Division of the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). He also currently serves as co-director of the Center for Direct Reading and Sensor Technologies and as coordinator of the NIOSH Exposure Assessment Program. Dr. Hoover came to NIOSH in 2000 following 25 years of highly successful energy-related respiratory research at the Lovelace Respiratory Research Institute (formerly the Inhalation Toxicology Research Institute) within the federal government’s special purpose laboratory system. He is a certified health physicist and a certified industrial hygienist.

Dr. Hoover’s substantial contributions to excellence over his 43-year career in the areas of inhalable materials and worker protection are documented in more than 240 open literature papers, chapters, and edited books including the reference text on Radioactive Air Sampling Methods. His contributions are further exemplified in national and international standards, as well as in nearly 350 professional presentations, and in the significant mentorship of nearly 50 students.

When asked to summarize his mission statement as an occupational health scientist, Dr. Hoover replied “My professional goal is to help make it easier for everyone to get the right things done right for occupational health by helping to build and sustain connected, protected, and respected communities of leaders, cultures, and systems, with all the tools, training, and experience needed to anticipate, recognize, evaluate, control, and confirm the protection of safety, health, well-being, and productivity from hazards, exposures, and resulting risks in all the places we live, learn, work, and play.”

Dr. Hoover’s contributions have earned him the Herbert E. Stokinger Award. The Stokinger Award will be announced at the ACGIH® Membership Reception and Annual Meeting of the Membership and at the AIHce Opening Session, and presented to Dr. Hoover at the Stokinger Lecture on Wednesday, May 23, 2018. The lecture will be entitled “The Importance of Confirming Protection from Risks in All the Places We Live, Learn, Work, and Play” and will be held in Room 119AB, Level 100 of the Pennsylvania Convention Center from 10:15 a.m. to 11:15 a.m.

Previous Award Recipients

  • 1977 — John A. Zapp, PhD
  • 1978 — Ralph C. Wands, CIH
  • 1979 — Henry F. Smyth, Jr., PhD
  • 1980 — Anna Baetjer, MD
  • 1981 — Ernest Mastromatteo, MD
  • 1982 — Hervey B. Elkins, PhD, CIH
  • 1983 — Theodore Torkelson, ScD
  • 1984 — Carrol S. Weil
  • 1985 — Roger O. McClellan, DVM
  • 1986 — Emil A. Pfitzer, ScD
  • 1987 — Robert T. Drew
  • 1988 — Melvin E. Andersen, PhD
  • 1989 — Mary O. Amdur, PhD, CIH
  • 1990 — Bernard Weiss, PhD
  • 1991 — Renate Kimbrough, MD
  • 1992 — John Doull, PhD, MD
  • 1993 — Morton Lippmann, PhD, CIH
  • 1994 — Robert Lauwerys, MD, ScD
  • 1995 — Cesare Maltoni, MD
  • 1996 — Elizabeth K. Weisburger, ScD, PhD
  • 1997 — Herbert E. Christensen, ScD, MPH
  • 1998 — Walter W. Melvin, Jr., ScD, MD
  • 1999 — Roy Ernest Albert, MD
  • 2000 — George M. Rusch
  • 2001 — Gunnar Johanson, Doctor of Medical Science
  • 2002 — Robert A. Scala, PhD
  • 2003 — Prof. Dr. med. Helmut Greim
  • 2004 — Hanspeter Witschi, MD
  • 2005 — B. Dwight Culver, MD
  • 2006 — Richard B. Schlesinger, PhD
  • 2007 — Gerald L. Kennedy, Jr., DABT
  • 2008 — Curtis D. Klaassen, PhD
  • 2009 — Vincent Castranova, PhD
  • 2010 — Bruce D. Naumann, PhD, DABT
  • 2011 — Len Levy OBE, PhD, FFOM, FBTS
  • 2012 — Michelle M. Schaper, PhD
  • 2013 — Günter Oberdörster, DVM, PhD
  • 2014 — Franklin E. Mirer, PhD, CIH
  • 2015 — Nigel Walker, PhD, DABT
  • 2016 — William D. Wagner
  • 2017 — John Cocker, PhD