Robert T. Hughes Memorial Award

2017 Awardee


The Robert T. Hughes Memorial Award was established in 2015 and first awarded in 2016. It recognizes outstanding individuals in the field of industrial ventilation. This year’s Hughes Memorial Award recipient is Thomas Godbey.

Mr. Godbey retired from the Donaldson Company, Inc., where he was a Senior Applications Engineer in the Industrial Air Filtration Group and Engineering Consulting Manager. His areas of expertise included fabric filtration, filtration of high temperature air with chemistry, explosion venting, and process integration, including over 40 years in the dust collection industry.  

Mr. Godbey earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Agricultural Engineering from the University of Kentucky in 1967. He has served on the Industrial Ventilation Committee as a Consultant since 2016.

Mr. Godbey has been affiliated with numerous organizations, including ASHRAE TC 5.4, American Filtration Society, NFPA, Association of Iron and Steel Technology, American Ceramic Society, Portland Cement Association, GEAPS, American Foundryman’s Society (former Chair of Clean Air Committee). He has been an instructor for Industrial Ventilation Conferences at Michigan State University, North Carolina State University, UNLV, UAB, and the University of Connecticut for over 40 years. Mr. Godbey has authored articles for numerous professional and trade journals and lectued at many trade events and conferences.

Mr. Godbey has made significant contributions to the field of industrial ventilation and ACGIH® is pleased to honor Mr. Godbey as the recipient of this year’s Hughes Award. The award will be announced at the ACGIH® Membership Reception and Annual Meeting of the Membership and AIHce Opening Session and presented at the Mark of Excellence Breakfast.

Previous Award Recipients

  • 2016 — Gerry A. Lanham, PE