Press Release

ACGIH® Announces Board of Directors' Election Results



Cincinnati, Ohio - October 1, 2001 - ACGIH® Worldwide is pleased to announce the results of its 2002 election for the Board of Directors, and its 2002 Nominating Committee.

ACGIH® members elected Vickie L. Wells, MS, CIH, CSP, to the position of Vice Chair-Elect. Ms. Wells is a Senior Industrial Hygienist with the City and County of San Francisco Department of Public Health, and currently manages their Occupational Safety and Health Section. An active ACGIH® member for over 15 years, Ms. Wells has held the position of Member-At-Large on the ACGIH® Board of Directors for the past two years. She will assume the position of Vice Chair-Elect beginning January 1, 2002.

Mary A. Newman, PhD, CIH, has been elected as Member-At-Large on the ACGIH® Board of Directors. Her three-year term will begin January 1, 2002. Dr. Newman has the distinction of being the first Associate Member elected to the Board of Directors under the association's new bylaws, which were adopted in September 2000. Dr. Newman is President and CEO of Healthcare Environments, Inc., an international safety and health consulting company located in Cincinnati, Ohio. Dr. Newman has been an ACGIH® member since 1986.

Four members have been elected to the 2002 ACGIH® Nominating Committee. They are:

Amanda L. Edens, MPH, is an Industrial Hygienist for the Occupational Safety and Health Administration, who joined ACGIH® in 1987. Ms. Edens has served on the Biological Exposure Indices Committee, and currently serves on the ACGIH® Infectious Agents Committee.

Leena A. Nylander-French, PhD, CIH, is an Assistant Professor at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Public Health in the Department of Environmental Sciences and Engineering. Dr. French joined ACGIH® in 1993.

Marshall Gray, Jr., is a U.S. Public Health Service Officer, serving as Director of Safety, Health, and Environmental Management for the U.S. EPA Office of Research and Development and National Exposure Research Laboratory at Research Triangle Park, North Carolina. Mr. Gray has been a member of ACGIH® since 1991.

Dennis Morgan, MS, has been an active member of ACGIH® for over 10 years, and currently serves as the Acting Chair of the Computer Committee. Mr. Morgan chaired the ACGIH® Web Subcommittee that launched the ACGIH® website. He has also co-chaired the ACGIH® International Symposium on Occupational Exposure Databases and Their Application for the Next Millennium. Mr. Morgan works as an Industrial Hygienist in the Health Division for Metal & Nonmetal Mines at the U.S. Department of Labor Mine Safety & Health Administration National Headquarters.

Note to Reporters: Photos are available upon request.

ACGIH® Worldwide is a member-based organization that advances worker health and safety through education and the development and dissemination of scientific and technical knowledge. ACGIH® is one of the industry's leading publications resources, with over 400 titles relative to occupational and environmental health and safety, including the renowned TLVs® and BEIs®. For more information, visit the ACGIH® website at or call our Customer Service Representatives at 513-742-2020.


Amy Bloomhuff, Esq.
Director of Operations
513-742-6163, extension 116