Press Release

ACGIH® Announces 2008 Election Results



Cincinnati, Ohio — August 23, 2007 — ACGIH® is pleased to announce the results of its 2008 election for the Board of Directors and its 2008 Nominating Committee.

ACGIH® members elected Stephen J. Reynolds, PhD, CIH to the position of Vice Chair-Elect. He will begin his four-year term on January 1, 2008. Dr. Reynolds is Professor and Head of the Occupational and Environmental Health Section, Department of Environmental and Radiological Health Sciences, at Colorado State University. Dr. Reynolds joined ACGIH® in 1995.

Theodore J. Hogan, PhD, CIH has been elected to serve as Director-At-Large on the ACGIH® Board of Directors. He will begin his three-year term on January 1, 2008. In addition to working as a consultant, Dr. Hogan holds a part-time instructor appointment at Benedictine University where he coordinates the disaster management program within the MPH degree program. Dr. Hogan has been an ACGIH® member since 1998.

Four members have been elected to the 2008 ACGIH® Nominating Committee. They are:

Thomas F. Bloom, MS, PE, CIH, CSP, DEE. Mr. Bloom has been an industrial hygiene and safety professional for 35 years. He has worked as an industrial safety consultant with the Ohio Bureau of Workers Compensation in Cincinnati, Ohio since 2002. Mr. Bloom joined ACGIH® in 1972.

Laurel A. Davis, MPH, CIH. Ms. Davis has been an industrial hygienist at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) since 1999. She has provided field industrial hygiene support to a variety of research and support organizations at LLNL, comprising a broad range of hazards and unique challenges. Ms. Davis joined ACGIH® in 1999.

Sheryl A. Milz, PhD, CIH. Dr. Milz is an assistant professor in the Department of Public Health & Homeland Security at the University of Toledo – Health Science Campus, where she teaches courses in epidemiology, statistics, risk assessment, environmental health, and occupational safety. Dr. Milz joined ACGIH® in 1989.

Wayne T. Sanderson, PhD, CIH. Dr. Sanderson is Associate Professor of Occupational and Environmental Health in the College of Public Health at The University of Iowa where he is also the Director of the Industrial Hygiene Training Program for the Heartland Center for Occupational Health and Safety. Dr. Sanderson has been an ACGIH® member since 1979.

Note to Reporters: Photos are available upon request.

ACGIH® is a member-based organization that advances occupational and environmental health. ACGIH® is one of the industry's leading publications resources, with approximately 400 titles relative to occupational and environmental health and safety, including the renowned TLVs® and BEIs®. For more information, visit the ACGIH® website at or call our Customer Service Representatives at 513-742-2020.


Amy B. Bloomhuff, Esq., CAE
Director of Operations