Press Release

ACGIH® Announces 2011 Election Results



Cincinnati, Ohio — October 4, 2010 — ACGIH® is pleased to announce new members for its 2011 Board of Directors and its 2011 Nominating Committee.

Robert F. Herrick, ScD, CIH, MS will assume the position of Vice Chair-Elect. He will begin his four-year term on January 1, 2011. As a certified industrial hygienist, Dr. Herrick has been in academia for 16 years, teaching at Harvard School of Public Health. He has 22 years of Federal service in the U.S. Army as well as NIOSH. Dr. Herrick joined ACGIH® in 1986. He previously served as Chair of the Board of Directors in 1992.

Chris Laszcz-Davis, MS, CIH, REA will assume the position of Director-At-Large. She will begin her three-year term on January 1, 2011. Ms. Laszcz-Davis is President of The Environmental Quality Organization, LLC, an EHS management consulting firm in Lafayette, CA, and is allied with the globally-based Aluminum Consulting Engineers (ACE), LLC. Ms. Laszcz-Davis joined ACGIH® in 1975 and has been an active member for more than 30 years. More recently, she was part of ACGIH®'s Organizational Infrastructure Task Force and is a member of the ACGIH®/FOHS Joint Board of Governors that manages the FOHS Sustainable TLV®/BEI® Program.

The 2011 ACGIH® Nominating Committee will include four new members. They are:

Patrick N. Breysse, PhD, CIH. Dr. Breysse has over 30 years of experience teaching and conducting research in occupational and environmental health. Dr. Breysse joined ACGIH® in 1997 and served as its Chair from 2000 to 2004. He currently serves on the Board of Trustees, Foundation for Occupational Health & Safety (2004-Present). In addition, Dr. Breysse served on the Board of Directors of the Journal of Occupational and Environmental Hygiene from 2006-2009.

Lauralynn Taylor McKernan, ScD, CIH. Dr. McKernan is a Commander in the U.S. Public Health Service and has been a research industrial hygienist for the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) for 14 years. Dr. McKernan has been conducting research/policy on diacetyl and flavorings and is leading the NIOSH effort to create a diacetyl criteria document. Dr. McKernan joined ACGIH® in 1997. She was honored with the ACGIH® Bloomfield Award in 2005 and has served on the Joint PCC Science Symposium Subcommittee (2006-2010) and the ACGIH® Membership Task Force (2008-09).

Scott E. Merkle, CIH, MS. Mr. Merkle has more than 30 years of managerial experience in occupational hygiene and has been a Certified Industrial Hygienist since 1981. Mr. Merkle has served two elected terms on the ACGIH® Board of Directors, serving as Chair from 2000 through 2001. He is a Trustee of the Foundation for Occupational Health & Safety. He served on the Board of Directors for the Journal of Occupational and Environmental Hygiene (2003-2006) and was the Board's first President in 2004. Mr. Merkle joined ACGIH® in 1981.

Lawrence W. Whitehead, MPH, PhD, CIH. Dr. Whitehead is Associate Professor at the School of Public Health at the University of Texas (UT) Health Science Center in Houston. He directs the ABET-accredited industrial hygiene curriculum, is past Interim Director of the Division of Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences and served as past director of the NIOSH Education and Research Center at UT from 1991-1997. Dr. Whitehead joined ACGIH® in 1983.

Note to Reporters: Photos are available upon request.

ACGIH® is a member-based organization that advances occupational and environmental health. ACGIH® is one of the industry's leading publications resources, with approximately 400 titles relative to occupational and environmental health and safety, including the renowned TLVs® and BEIs®. For more information, visit the ACGIH® website at or call our Customer Service Representatives at 513-742-2020.


Amy B. Bloomhuff, Esq., CAE
Associate Executive Director