Press Release

ACGIH® Announces Additions to the 2010 Board of Directors and 2010 Nominating Committee



Cincinnati, Ohio — September 14, 2009 — ACGIH® is pleased to announce new members for its 2010 Board of Directors and its 2010 Nominating Committee.

Bill R. McArthur, PhD, CIH will assume the position of Vice Chair-Elect. He will begin his four-year term on January 1, 2010. As an Occupational Safety and Health Professional, Dr. McArthur has over 36 years of experience in the private sector, academia, and both federal and state government. Dr. McArthur is certified in the comprehensive practice of industrial hygiene and holds a PhD in Environmental Health Engineering from Johns Hopkins University, an MSPH from the University of Washington, and a BS degree in chemistry from St. Martin's University. Dr. McArthur has been an ACGIH® member since 1980.

Heather D. Borman, MS, CIH, CSP will assume the position of Secretary-Treasurer-Elect. She will begin her four-year term on January 1, 2010. Ms. Borman is an industrial hygienist with the California State Compensation Insurance Fund where she conducts corporate projects such as developing training curricula and providing technical support for the development of State Fund safety products. She holds a Master's degree in Industrial Health from the University of Michigan's School of Public Health. Ms. Borman joined ACGIH® in 1990.

Stephanie R. Carter, PhD, CIH will assume the position of Director-At-Large. She will begin her three-year term on January 1, 2010. Dr. Carter recently completed the doctoral program in Occupational and Environmental Health Sciences at the University of Washington. She received a BS degree in Environmental Health from the University of Georgia (1988) and an MSPH from the University of Alabama at Birmingham (1990). She was an industrial hygiene specialist with Exxon Company U.S.A. for seven years before returning to graduate school. Dr. Carter became an ACGIH® member in 1988.

The 2010 ACGIH® Nominating Committee will include four new members. They are:

Madalyn E. Ferrell, MS. Ms. Ferrell is a Senior Industrial Hygienist with the U.S. Department of Labor/OSHA in Houston, Texas. Her primary responsibility is to enforce OSHA's federal regulations throughout all industries and the federal sector. Ms. Ferrell joined ACGIH® in 1994.

Vickie R. Hawkins, MS, CIH. Ms. Hawkins is the Industrial Hygiene Field Services Program Manager for the U.S. Army Center for Health Promotion and Preventive Medicine located at Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland. She has 22 years of experience as an Industrial Hygienist. Ms. Hawkins joined ACGIH® in 1993.

David C. May, ScD, CIH. Dr. May teaches industrial hygiene at Keene State College where he was recently appointed Assistant Professor to the Safety Studies Program. He is also Principal of Concord Cymorth LLC, a small firm that focuses on workplace safety, health and employment issues. Dr. May joined ACGIH® in 1979 and currently serves on the Threshold Limit Values for Chemical Substances (TLV®-CS) Committee.

Edward T. Ochi, CIH, CSP. Mr. Ochi is the Senior Industrial Hygienist for the San Francisco General Hospital and Trauma Center. He has over 25 years of experience working in a variety of government, industrial, research and development, and consulting settings. Mr. Ochi joined ACGIH® in 1985.

Note to Reporters: Photos are available upon request.

ACGIH® is a member-based organization that advances occupational and environmental health. ACGIH® is one of the industry's leading publications resources, with approximately 400 titles relative to occupational and environmental health and safety, including the renowned TLVs® and BEIs®. For more information, visit the ACGIH® website at or call our Customer Service Representatives at 513-742-2020.


Amy B. Bloomhuff, Esq., CAE
Associate Executive Director