Press Release

ACGIH® Honors Its 2004 Awards Recipients



Cincinnati, Ohio — March 10, 2004 — ACGIH® will honor its Awards recipients at the American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exposition (AIHce) held May 8-13, 2004 in Atlanta, Georgia. Each year, ACGIH® honors individuals and/or groups who have made significant contributions to the profession through their leadership and dedication. This year's awardees joined a prestigious group of recipients.

Herbert E. Stokinger Award Recipient:
Hanspeter Witschi, MD

The Herbert E. Stokinger Award is presented each year to an individual who has made a significant contribution in the broad field of industrial and environmental toxicology.

Dr. Witschi has made a career of furthering industrial and environmental toxicology in academia, through his continuing research, and as an author. Through his work as a forensic pathologist and his time spent at the Toxicology Research Unit of the British Medical Council in Carshalton, UK, the Department of Environmental Health, University of Cincinnati, the Department of Pathology at the University of Pittsburgh, the Biology Division of Oak Ridge National Laboratory, and the Schools of Medicine and of Veterinary Medicine at the University of California, Davis, Dr. Witschi contributed immensely to the field. Upon his retirement, his efforts did not stop. He remains on part-time recall in order to continue his extramurally funded research activities. Dr. Witschi has served on several NIH study sections and numerous committees of the National Research Council's Committee on Toxicology and has also been a member of the Scientific Review Panel of the State of California's Air Resources Board. He has authored more than 250 papers published in scientific journals and book chapters and has edited two books on inhalation toxicology.

John J. Bloomfield Award Recipient:
Major Anthony J. Intrepido, CIH, MPH, MS

The John J. Bloomfield Award is presented to a young industrial hygienist who pursues the problem of occupational health hazards primarily by doing fieldwork, and who demonstrates significant contribution to the profession.

Major Intrepido is the U.S. Army Center for Health Promotion and Preventive Medicine's (CHPPM) Industrial Hygiene Field Services Program Manager. As a member of CHPPM's Special Medical Augmentation Response Team, Major Intrepido has participated in numerous biological and chemical terrorism exercises throughout the United States, including work at the Pentagon after 9/11 and work at the Nation's Capital in response to the Anthrax attacks. A graduate of both Airborne and Air Assault Schools and recipient of the Expert Field Medical Badge awarded by the U.S. Army's 75th Ranger Regiment, Major Intrepido was also chosen by the CDC as an emerging leader in public health in 2003. Major Intrepido's research on Bacillus anthracis re-aerosolization was published in the Journal of the American Medical Association and included paramount discoveries for ascertaining remediation methodologies and improving worker protection.

Meritorious Achievement Award Recipient:
Morton Lippmann, PhD, CIH

The Meritorious Achievement Award is given to members of ACGIH® who have made an outstanding, long-term contribution to the field of occupational health and industrial hygiene.

Dr. Lippmann, a Professor of Environmental Medicine at the New York University (NYU) School of Medicine, directs a research program on Human Exposure and Health Effects, and the EPA-supported Particulate Matter Health Effects Research Center. He has been the recipient of awards from ACGIH® (Stokinger), AIHA (Cummings), AAAR (Sinclair), and AAIH (Smythe). Dr. Lippmann has served in many capacities in the occupational health and industrial hygiene field including Chair of ACGIH® (1982-1983), past President of the International Society of Exposure Analysis (1994-1995), a member of the EPA Science Advisory Board's Executive Committee (2000-2001), a member of EPA's Advisory Committee on Indoor Air Quality and Total Human Exposure (1987-1993), and a member of the NIOSH Board of Scientific Counselors (1991-1993). Dr. Lippmann has also served as Chair of the External Scientific Advisory Committee of the Children's Health Study of air pollution in Southern California (1993-2003) and of the study of the inhalation toxicology of complex air pollutant mixtures at the National Environmental Respiratory Center in Albuquerque (1997-2004). He has chaired numerous National Research Council committees, published many research and review papers in the scientific literature, and authored two reference texts on environmental health science.

William Steiger Memorial Award Recipient:
John Howard, MD, MPH, JD, LLM

The William Steiger Memorial Award honors individuals from the social/political sphere whose efforts have contributed to advancements in occupational health and safety. Initiated in 1979, this award is not limited to occupational safety and health professionals.

Dr. Howard is the Director of the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services in Washington, D.C. Prior to his appointment as Director of NIOSH, Dr. Howard served as Chief of the Division of Occupational Safety and Health in the California Department of Industrial Relations from 1991 through 2002.

Dr. Howard is board-certified in internal medicine and occupational medicine. He is admitted to the practice of medicine and law in the State of California and in the District of Columbia, and he is a member of the U.S. Supreme Court bar. He has written numerous articles on occupational health law and policy.

ACGIH® Worldwide is a member-based organization that advances worker health and safety through education and the development and dissemination of scientific and technical knowledge. ACGIH® is one of the industry's leading publications resources, with approximately 400 titles relative to occupational and environmental health and safety, including the renowned TLVs® and BEIs®. For more information, visit the ACGIH® website at or call our Customer Service Representatives at 513-742-2020.

Amy Bloomhuff, Esq.
Director of Operations
513-742-6163, extension 116