Press Release

ACGIH® Honors Its 2006 Awards Recipients



Cincinnati, Ohio — March 17, 2006 — ACGIH® will honor its 2006 Awards recipients at the American Industrial Hygiene Conference & Expo held May 13-18, 2006 in Chicago, Illinois. Each year, ACGIH® honors individuals and/or groups who have made significant contributions to the profession through their leadership and dedication. This year's awardees continue in that tradition of excellence.

Herbert E. Stokinger Award Recipient: Richard B. Schlesinger, PhD

The Herbert E. Stokinger Award is presented each year to an individual who has made a significant contribution in the broad field of industrial and environmental toxicology.

Dr. Schlesinger has contributed much to the field by conducting research in and teaching courses in industrial and environmental toxicology for the past 20 years. As Professor and Chair of the Department of Biology and Health Sciences and Director of the Graduate Program in Environmental Sciences at Dyson College of Arts and Sciences, Pace University in New York, Dr. Schlesinger has imparted his knowledge to many over the years.

Dr. Schlesinger has published extensively in the area of epidemiology and toxicology of the respiratory system. He is a member of the Society of Toxicology (SOT) and the Sigma Xi Scientific Research Society. Dr. Schlesinger received the Michigan Industrial Hygiene Society Award for the best paper of the year from AIHA in 1972, the Research Career Development Award from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) in 1983, the Kenneth Morgareidge Award for outstanding research contributions to the science of toxicology from the International Life Sciences Institute in 1987, the Career Achievement Award from SOT in 1999, and was named an Elected Fellow to the Academy of Toxicological Sciences in 2002.

Dr. Schlesinger's contributions to the field of industrial and environmental toxicology have added his name to a prestigious list of recipients of the Stokinger Award.

John J. Bloomfield Award Recipient: Aleksandr B. Stefaniak, PhD, CIH

The John J. Bloomfield Award is presented to a young industrial hygienist who pursues the problem of occupational health hazards primarily by doing fieldwork, and who demonstrates significant contribution to the profession.

Dr. Stefaniak is the Senior Service Fellow in the Division of Respiratory Disease Studies at The Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health in Baltimore, Maryland. In this position and throughout his career, he has conducted considerable research on workplace health hazards. Dr. Stefaniak has received numerous awards for his research efforts including the Best of Conference Award from the 2nd International Conference on Occupational and Environmental Exposures of the Skin to Chemicals in Stockholm, Sweden in 2005. His work in the field has caused him to stand out and has gained him recognition as the John J. Bloomfield Awardee.

Meritorious Achievement Award Recipient: Patrick N. Breysse, PhD, CIH

The Meritorious Achievement Award is given to members of ACGIH® who have made an outstanding, long-term contribution to the field of occupational health and industrial hygiene.

Dr. Breysse is the Director of the Division of Environmental Health Engineering in the Department of Environmental Health Sciences at The Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health in Baltimore, Maryland. Dr. Breysse has been a member of ACGIH® since 1997 and has served as Vice Chair, Chair and Past Chair of the ACGIH® Board of Directors. He is also or has been in the past, a member of the following professional societies: International Society for Exposure Analysis (2003-present); American Academy of Industrial Hygiene (1985-present); American Industrial Hygiene Association (1979-present); Bioelectromagnetics Society (1988-2000); Air Pollution Control Association (1986-1990); and British Occupational Hygiene Society (1985-1988).

Dr. Breysse's guidance during his tenure as ACGIH®'s Chair, his teaching in the field, his consultation services, and his extensive publishing on a range of topics in occupational health and industrial hygiene all combine to make Dr. Breysse exemplary of what the Meritorious Achievement Award represents.

William Steiger Memorial Award Recipient: Charles E. Adkins, CIH

The William Steiger Memorial Award honors individuals from the social/political sphere whose efforts have contributed to advancements in occupational health and safety. Initiated in 1979, this award is not limited to occupational safety and health professionals.

Mr. Adkins has been a Regional Administrator of the Kansas City, Missouri office of the U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) since 1995. Mr. Adkins joined OSHA in 1971, after having been employed by the Kennedy Space Center in Florida and by the Florida Board of Health. From 1971 through 1986, he held various positions in the Regional Office that he now leads.

In 1986, he headed the Directorate of Health Standards Programs, developing standards for Lead in Construction, Cadmium, Bloodborne Pathogens and Permissible Exposure Limits.

Mr. Adkins is certified in the comprehensive practice of industrial hygiene and has used his position and influence to promote the reduction of occupational injuries, illnesses and fatalities. His dedication and leadership have led to advancements in the field of occupational health and safety and make him deserving of the Steiger Award.

ACGIH® is a member-based organization that advances worker health and safety through education and the development and dissemination of scientific and technical knowledge. ACGIH® is one of the industry's leading publications resources, with approximately 400 titles relative to occupational and environmental health and safety, including the renowned TLVs® and BEIs® book. For more information, visit the ACGIH® website at or call our Customer Service Representatives at 513-742-2020.

Amy Bloomhuff, Esq., CAE
Director of Operations
513-742-6163, extension 116