Scientific Committees

ACGIH Scientific Committees

Experts Advancing ACGIH

Committees are established by and responsible to the Board of Directors. The activities of each Committee are directed by an individual mission statement. Committee members are appointed by the Board of Directors; any ACGIH member interested in volunteering for possible appointment may do so by writing to the Chair of ACGIH in care of the Headquarters Office (3640 Park 42 Drive | Cincinnati, Ohio 45241; phone: 513-742-2020, e-mail:

Committee members are not authorized to speak with stakeholders or distribute information about TLVs, BEIs, and other ACGIH guidelines that are under development. Committee members are not authorized to speak as representatives of ACGIH about ACGIH and/or the TLVs, BEIs, and other ACGIH guidelines at scientific meetings, symposia, etc. without consent from ACGIH. (Click here to view the ACGIH Public Affairs and Communications Policy and the ACGIH Information Release Policy.)

To compile and disseminate information on biologically derived contaminants that may become airborne, to develop recommendations for assessment, control, remediation, and prevention of such hazards, and to establish criteria for bioaerosol exposure limits. Current members are:

Position Name
Chair John P. Springston, CIH, CSP, FAIHA
Vice Chair Cheri Marcham, PhD, CIH, CSP, CHMM, FAIHA
Member Ginger L. Chew, ScD, MSPH
Member John David Krause, PhD, MSPH, CIH
Member Francis J. Offermann, PE, CIH
Member James A. Scott, PhD
Member Robert Strode, MS, CIH
Consultant K. A. N. Aithinne, PhD, GSP, CPH
Consultant Harriet Ammann, PhD, DABT
Consultant David I. Bernstein, MD
Consultant Jonathan A. Bernstein, MD
Consultant Erin Bouttenot
Consultant Lisa M. Brosseau, ScD, CIH, AFOH
Consultant Hung K. Cheung, MD, MPH, FACOEM
Consultant Albert Victor Condello, III, CSP, CHMM, NREMT
Consultant Ian Cull, PE, CIH
Consultant James E. DePaoli, CIH, CSP
Consultant Stephen J. Derman, CIH, FAIHA
Consultant Cynthia Ellwood, PhD, CIH
Consultant Philip G. Hauck, MSHS
Consultant Stephen King, PhD, MDiv, MPH
Consultant Andrey A. Korchevskiy, PhD, DABT, CIH
Consultant James P. Kornberg, ScD, MD
Consultant James A. LaMondia, PhD
Consultant Stephen R. Larson, MS, CIH, CSP, RBP, RRPT
Consultant De-Wei Li, PhD
Consultant Joseph William Lstiburek, PhD
Consultant Kenneth F. Martinez, CIH
Consultant Nicole V. McCollough, PhD, CIH
Consultant William D. Mele, CIEC, RCCP-SCF, RCP-FH
Consultant J. David Miller, PhD
Consultant Neil P. Schultes, PhD
Consultant Richard J. Shaughnessy, PhD
Consultant Luis E. Smith, CIH, FLAC
Consultant Simon J. Smith, PhD
Consultant Peter S. Thorne, PhD
Consultant Ching-Yi Tsai, PhD
Consultant Paula H. Vance, RM/SM(NRCM), SM(ASCP), CIE
Consultant Steven Welty, CIE, CAFS, LEED, AP
Consultant Chin Shan Yang, PhD
Board Liaison Col. (Ret.) Mary S. Lopez, PhD, CPE
Staff Liaison Erica Rosalle

To develop occupational biological exposure guidelines that are scientifically valid and supported by professional judgment, up-to-date, well-documented, understandable and clear, and produced by a clearly-defined process that is balanced and free of conflict of interest. Current members are:

Position Name
Chair Nancy B. Hopf, PhD
Vice Chair Lee M. Blum, PhD, F-ABFT
Member Michael Bader, Dr. rer. nat.
Member Jean Grassman, PhD, MS, CPH
Member Kate Jones, MPhil
Member Heiko U. Kaefferlein, Dr. rer. nat.
Member Larry Lowry, PhD
Member Leena A. Nylander-French, PhD, CIH
Consultant Philip Edelman
Board Liaison Cathy Hovde, MS, CIH, CSP
Staff Liaison Erica Rosalle

To provide a safe and healthful environment by integrating state-of-the-art information from government and industry sources, using them to develop and recommend ventilation and other engineering controls to capture, collect, filter, and remove airborne contaminants from the workplace.

Current members of Industrial Ventilation Committee:

Position Name
Chair Jonathan F. Hale, MPA
Vice Chair Robert Shearer
Member James S. Bennett, PhD
Member Sergio A. Caporali Filho, PhD, CSP, CIH
Member Robert Dayringer, CIH
Member Matt Diestler, EIT
Member George R. Gruetzmacher, PhD, PE, CIH
Member Christopher P. Manning, PhD
Member Dale Price
Member Rafael Sartim, PhD
Member Jennifer L. Topmiller, MS
Consultant Thomas Godbey, Jr
Consultant Howard Goodfellow PhD, FET, P.Eng
Consultant Daniel Josephs
Consultant Gerry A. Lanham, PE
Consultant Ali Reza Rahmati, MS
Board Liaison Edward T. Zellers, PhD
Staff Liaison Erica Rosalle

To recommend airborne concentrations of agents and exposure conditions for use in the practice of industrial hygiene and by other qualified professionals to protect worker health.

Current members of Threshold Limit Values for Chemical Substances Committee:

Position Name
Chair Rachel Rubin, MD, MPH, FACP
Vice Chair Michael DeLorme, PhD
Member Marcy I. Banton, DVM, PhD, DABVT
Member Jeremy R. Beach, MB, BS, MD
Member William S. Beckett, MD, MPH
Member Dennis M. Casserly, PhD, CIH, FAIHA
Member Hugh W. Davies, PhD, MSc, BSC, CIH
Member Laura Deakin, PhD, MPH
Member Alison Elder, PhD
Member Deborah C. Glass, MA, MSc, PhD
Member Ian A. Greaves, MD
Member Gerald L. Kennedy, Jr.
Member Michael T. Kleinman, PhD
Member Mark Korchinski, MSc, DABT, ERT
Member John Murphy, BSc, MHSc, MBA, PhD, ROH, CIH, MACE
Member Bruce D. Naumann, PhD, DABT
Member Edward V. Sargent, PhD, MPH, DABT
Member Candace Tsai, ScD, CIH
Member James Wagner, PhD
Board Liaison Thomas M. Peters, MS, PhD, CIH
Staff Liaison Skye Bickett, DHSc, MLIS

To develop occupational exposure guidelines for physical agents, including those of an acoustic, electromagnetic, radiological, ergonomic, mechanical, and thermal nature.

Current members of Threshold Limit Values for Physical Agents Committee:

Position Name
Chair Richard L. Neitzel, PhD, CIH, FAIHA
Vice Chair Stephanie C. Griffin, PhD, CIH
Member Martin Cherniack, MD, MPH
Member Kenneth R. Foster, PhD, PE
Member Karl Friedl, PhD
Member Laurel Kincl, PhD, CSP
Member Bernard Martin, PhD
Member David M. Rempel, MD, MPH, CPE
Member Michael Schmoldt, CIH, PE, CHMM, MS, MPH, MBA
Member David H. Sliney, PhD
Member Suzanne D. Smith, PhD
Member June T. Spector, MD, MPH
Member Bruce E. Stuck, MS, ScD
Consultant Beth A. Beidleman, ScD
Consultant Thomas E. Bernard, PhD, CIH
Consultant George C. Brainard, PhD
Consultant Anthony J. Brammer, PhD
Consultant John William Castellani, PhD
Consultant Steven Chervak
Consultant Hugh W. Davies, PhD, MSc, BSC, CIH
Consultant Robert R. Fox, PhD, CPE
Consultant Peter W. Johnson, PhD
Consultant Kenneth Kase, PhD
Consultant Jay Kim, PhD
Consultant Steven A. Lavender, PhD, CPE
Consultant Steven W. Lockley, PhD
Consultant David J. Lund
Consultant William S. Marras, PhD
Consultant Thais C. Morata, PhD
Consultant James R. Potvin
Consultant James P. Seward, MD, MPP, MMM
Consultant Imelda Wong, PhD
Board Liaison Neil J. Zimmerman, PhD, PE, CIH, FAIHA
Staff Liaison Erica Rosalle