ACGIH Awards

Honored Individuals Making a Difference

Each year, ACGIH® honors individuals who have made significant contributions to the profession through their leadership and dedication. These prestigious awards are presented at the annual AIHce, and past winners comprise a virtual “Who’s Who” in ACGIH and industrial hygiene overall.

Awards Nomination Form – To nominate someone for one of these awards, click here to fill out the form.

John J. Bloomfield Award

The John J. Bloomfield Award was established in 1978 and is presented annually to a young industrial hygienist who has made significant contributions to the profession by pursuing occupational health hazards, primarily through fieldwork. The recipient must have at least three but less than ten years of experience in occupational health and must spend a minimum of 50 percent of his/her time conducting industrial hygiene studies and documenting the data involved.

The Bloomfield Award recipient is invited to Board of Directors’ meetings as a special guest for one year, followed by one year with a major committee of their choice.

View Recipients

Robert T. Hughes Memorial Award

The Robert T. Hughes Memorial Award was established in 2015 and first awarded in 2016. It recognizes outstanding individuals in the field of industrial ventilation.

View Recipients

Meritorious Achievement Award

The Meritorious Achievement Award recognizes members of ACGIH who have made an outstanding, long-term contribution to the progress of occupational health and environmental hygiene. First presented in 1957, it is the organization’s oldest award. It has been given to individuals for singular achievement and to groups for collective accomplishment.

View Recipients

Philip R. Morey Memorial Award

Established in 2020 to honor Dr. Morey who, with more than 30 years of work experience as an indoor air quality scientist, provided expert analysis on microbial investigations and bio-contamination control. Dr. Morey chaired the ACGIH Bioaerosols Committee in the late 1980s and was one of the original authors of the ACGIH publication Bioaerosols: Assessment and Control. He was a member of the International Academy of Indoor Air Sciences and a Fellow of the American Industrial Hygiene Association. He was also a member of the World Health Organization’s Committee on Guidelines for Biological Agents in the Indoor Environments. In 2014, he was honored with AIHA’s J. Baier Award for technical achievement. He was a frequent presenter to professional conferences and co-authored more than 200 publications. His body of work made an enduring contribution to public health.

View Recipients

William Steiger Memorial Award

The William Steiger Memorial Award honors individuals from the social/political sphere whose efforts have contributed to advancements in occupational health and safety. Initiated in 1979, this award is not limited to occupational safety and health professionals.

View Recipients

Herbert E. Stokinger Award

Initiated in 1977, the Herbert E. Stokinger Award recognizes significant contributions in the broad field of industrial and environmental toxicology. The award’s namesake served as Chairman of the Chemical Substances Threshold Limit Values Committee from 1961–1975.

View Recipients

William D. Wagner Award

The William D. Wagner Award was established in 2003 and is presented annually to honor a person in the field of national and international worker health and safety who has followed Mr. Wagner’s outstanding example of commitment and dedication to the creation and dissemination of occupational exposure values (OEVs).

The Award recipient will be chosen each year by one of the ACGIH OEV Committees on a rotating basis.

The OEV Committees will make nominations and the awardee will be selected at least six months prior to the applicable Committee’s fall meeting. The Award will be presented at the Committee’s fall meeting. The Awardee will be invited to speak to the OEV Committee and guests on some aspect of international worker health and safety.

View Recipients