William Steiger Memorial Award

2023 William Steiger Memorial Awardee

The William Steiger Memorial Award honors individuals from the social/political sphere whose efforts have contributed to advancements in occupational safety and health. Noel Tresider, AM FAIOH is the 2023 Steiger Award recipient for making such contributions.

Noel Tresider is a Fellow of AIOH and a COH (AIOH) (retired), CIH (ABIH) (retired).

He was the Australian Institute of Occupational Hygienists (AIOH) President (1998-99), and received the AIOH Outstanding Service Award in 2021.

Noel was International Occupational Hygiene Association (IOHA) President (2011-2012), IOHA Board member (2006-2013), and received the IOHA Lifetime Achievement Award in 2014.

He received the AIHA Yant Award in 2015.

In 2018, Noel was honoured by the Australian Government by becoming a Member of the Order of Australia (AM).

He became involved with the Occupational Hygiene Training Association (OHTA) (2006-2015) and Board member (2015-2018). Noel developed the Asian Network of Occupational Hygiene (ANOH) and initiated the first meetings (2013-2016). He was a Board Member (2015-2017) with Workplace Health Without Borders (WHWB).

Noel has over 40 years’ experience in the oil and chemical industries and provided industrial hygiene services to Mobil Oil affiliates in the Asia-Pacific region. Later he provided industrial hygiene services to other major oil companies in Australia and Qatar. Most recently, Noel was employed as the Chemical Project Officer at Baker Heart and Diabetes Institute in Melbourne and is now enjoying a fulfilling retirement.

Previous Award Recipients

  • 1979 — Congressman David R. Obey
  • 1982 — George Taylor (AFL–CIO)
  • 1983 — Edgar L. McGowan, Commissioner of Labor, South Carolina
  • 1984 — Gershon W. Fishbein, Editor, Occupational Health and Safety Letter
  • 1985 — Congressman Joseph M. Gaydos of Pennsylvania
  • 1986 — William G. Philips
  • 1987 — Sheldon Samuels, Director, Health, Safety and Environment, Industrial Union Department, AFL–CIO
  • 1988 — Senator Robert C. Byrd of West Virginia
  • 1989 — Richard F. Boggs, Vice President of Organization Resources Counselors, Inc.
  • 1990 — Joseph A. Kinney, Executive Director of The National Safe Workplace Institute
  • 1991 — David P. Rall, MD, PhD, Director of the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (1971–1990) and Director of the National Toxicology Program (1978–1990)
  • 1992 — Molly J. Coye, MD, Director of the Department of Health Services of the State of California
  • 1993 — J. Donald Millar, MD, DTPH (Lond.), the Assistant Surgeon General and Director of the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
  • 1994 — Eula Bingham, PhD, Professor of Environmental Health; past Director of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration
  • 1995 — Margaret Seminario, Director of Occupational Safety and Health for the AFL–CIO
  • 1996 — James Merchant, MD of the University of Iowa, College of Medicine and Senator Tom Harkin of Iowa
  • 1997 — J. Davitt McAteer, Assistant Secretary for the U.S. Labor Department’s Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) and Andrea M. Hricko, Deputy Assistant Secretary for MSHA
  • 1998 — Linda Rae Murray, MD, MPH, Winfield Moody Health Center
  • 1999 — Gerald F. Scannell, Director, National Safety Council; previously Director of the Office of Standards in the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), and Assistant Secretary of Labor for OSHA
  • 2000 — Phil Landrigan, MD, Mount Sinai Medical Center
  • 2001 — James Melius, MD, DrPH
  • 2002 — Congressman George Miller (D-CA) and Congressman Major R. Owens (D-NY)
  • 2003 — Brian Davies, CIH
  • 2004 — John Howard, MD, MPH, JD, LLM
  • 2005 — Ernest Mastromatteo, CD, MD, DPH, DIH, FABPM (Occ Med), CCBOM, MFOM (London)
  • 2006 — Charles E. Adkins, CIH
  • 2007 — Earl Dotter, Photojournalist
  • 2008 — John L. Henshaw, CIH, MPH
  • 2009 — Rosemary Sokas, MD, MSc, MOH
  • 2010 — Scott Schneider, CIH
  • 2011 — Roger Alesbury, MS, FFOH, CFIOSH
  • 2012 — Richard Fairfax, CIH
  • 2013 — David Michaels, PhD, MPH
  • 2014 — Tom O’Connor, MPH
  • 2015 — Garrett D. Brown, MPH, CIH
  • 2016 — Vickie L. Wells, MS, CIH, CSP
  • 2017 — U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown
  • 2018 — Bennet I. Omalu, MD, MBA, MPH, CPE, DABP-AP, CP, FP, NP
  • 2019 — Michael J. Wright
  • 2020 — Dr. Mona Hanna-Attisha
  • 2021 — Senator Tom Harkin
  • 2022 — Andrea Hiddinga-Schipper