Philip R. Morey Memorial Award

2023 Philip R. Morey Memorial Award

Established in 2020 to honor Dr. Morey who, with more than 30 years of work experience as an indoor air quality scientist, provided expert analysis on microbial investigations and bio-contamination control. Dr. Morey chaired the ACGIH Bioaerosols Committee in the late 1980s and was one of the original authors of the ACGIH publication Bioaerosols: Assessment and Control. He was a member of the International Academy of Indoor Air Sciences and a Fellow of the American Industrial Hygiene Association. He was also a member of the World Health Organization’s Committee on Guidelines for Biological Agents in the Indoor Environments. In 2014, he was honored with AIHA’s J. Baier Award for technical achievement. He was a frequent presenter to professional conferences and co-authored more than 200 publications. His body of work made an enduring contribution to public health.

The 2023 Philip R. Morey Memorial Award recipient is Tiina Reponen, PhD.

Dr. Reponen is Professor Emerita in the Department of Environmental and Public Health Sciences, College of Medicine. As an expert in indoor allergens and mold, she served as the principal investigator in several major laboratory and field experiments on airborne allergens, bacteria, and fungi and has directed exposure assessment teams in population-based studies, including the Cincinnati Childhood Allergy and Air Pollution Study (CCAAPS), Marietta study and e-waste study. Dr. Reponen served as the Director of the NIOSH-funded University of Cincinnati Education and Research Center, which includes graduate programs related to occupational health from three colleges: Medicine, Nursing, and Applied Science and Engineering. She has mentored over 65 graduate students and postdoctoral fellows at the University of Cincinnati. She has also served on Ph.D. committees and as an external reviewer of Ph.D. theses of several international students (from Finland, Australia, France, and Lithuania). She is the Chair of the NIOSH Board of Scientific Counselors and a member of the Fellows of the International Society of Indoor Air Quality and Climate as well as the Fellows of the Graduate School of the University of Cincinnati. She is also a recipient of the Finland Distinguished Professor Award and the David Sinclair Award from the American Association for Aerosol Research.

Previous Award Recipients