2019 Robert T. Hughes Memorial Award

2019 Robert T. Hughes Memorial Awardee

The Robert T. Hughes Memorial Award was established in 2015 and first awarded in 2016. It recognizes outstanding individuals in the field of industrial ventilation. This year’s Hughes Memorial Award recipient is Norma Donovan.

Tirelessly, and without pay, Mrs. Donovan served the ACGIH® Industrial Ventilation Committee as an Editorial Consultant from its inception in 1950 through 2008. She was a major contributor to the publication of the first edition of ACGIH’s Industrial Ventilation: A Manual of Recommended Practice. As the Committee’s official secretary, she held the primary responsibility for typing and assembly of 26 of the 30 editions of the Design Manual, as well as the first edition of its companion manual, Industrial Ventilation: A Manual of Recommended Practice for Operation and Maintenance.

In addition to her assistance with editing, typing, printing, and publishing of the ventilation manuals, Mrs. Donovan also provided for their storage in and distribution from the basement of her family home. She even ensured that when her family purchased a new home it possessed a walk-out basement, which greatly aided her Committee activities. Eighteen editions of ventilation manuals were stocked and sold for 35 years from her home until 1986 when ACGIH assumed this effort.

Ken Robinson, a former member of the ACGIH Industrial Ventilation Committee and its Chair from 1950 to 1952, stated, “There is no doubt in my mind that without Norma the Manual would never have been printed.” What a true testament of her loyalty and dedication to the Committee’s activities and immeasurable contributions to the field of industrial ventilation! Because of her years of loyal and devoted service to the Committee and ACGIH, she was named an Honorary Member of ACGIH in 1976.

ACGIH is pleased to honor Mrs. Donovan as the recipient of this year’s Hughes Memorial Award.

Previous Award Recipients

  • 2016 — Gerry A. Lanham, PE
  • 2017 — Thomas Godbey
  • 2018 — Raymond (Ray) B. Hunter