2020 Herbert E. Stokinger Award

2020 Herbert E. Stokinger Awardee

The Herbert E. Stokinger Award is given each year to an individual who has made a significant contribution in the broad field of industrial and environmental toxicology.

This year’s Stokinger Award recipient is Dr. Robert Landsiedel.

Dr. Landsiedel is vice president of experimental toxicology and ecology at BASF SE (Ludwigshafen am Rhein, Germany); he had previously worked for BASF in development and management positions in Research Triangle Park, NC and Tokyo, Japan. He is an assistant professor (Privatdozent) at the faculty of biology, chemistry and pharmacy of the Free University of Berlin, and has further teaching positions at the universities in Leipzig and Landau. In 2015 he was appointed as a member of the European Commission’s Scientific Committee for Occupational Exposure Levels (SCOEL) where he chaired the methodology working group until the Committee’s decommissioning in 2019.

Dr. Landsiedel’s research interests focus on developing new toxicological methods, investigating the effects of solid particles (including nanomaterials) on human health and improving methods for risk assessments. He has published 124 highly cited manuscripts, 42 review papers, 15 book chapters and has edited 4 books. In 2015 he was listed among the top ten most- cited German toxicologists. Dr. Landsiedel and his team at BASF perform more than 500 regulatory toxicological studies per year under GLP and ISO17020 as well as screenings for product development. In addition, they perform toxicological research and have received numerous internal BASF research grants as well as 20 external grants funded by the German or European governments. His work has been recognized by several awards including the German Research Award for the development of alternative methods (2014), the animal welfare award of the state of Rhineland-Palatinate (2013), the BASF Innovation Award (2012), the German Toxicology Societies (GT) Toxicology Award (2016) and, as part of BASF’s NanoTeam, the Responsible Care Award of the European Chemical Industry Council (Cefic) in 2018.

Dr. Landsiedel received a Diploma degree in food chemistry from the University of Kaiserslautern, Germany in 1992; a postgraduate degree in toxicology (Fachchemiker für Toxikologie) from the Medical School of the University of Leipzig; he accomplished his Ph.D. dissertation at the Johannes Gutenberg University in Mainz and the German Institute for Human Nutrition (DIfE) in Potsdam, Germany and earned a Ph.D. degree in chemistry (Dr. rer. nat.) graduating summa cum laude in 1997. In 2017 he received a Habilitation in pharmacology and toxicology from the Free University of Berlin. Dr. Landsiedel became a Diplomate of the American Board of Toxicology (DABT) in 2003 and a Fellow of American Academy of Toxicological Sciences (FATS) in 2013. Since 2008 he has served on the board of the German Toxicology Society and is currently its vice president. He also represents the European Chemical Industry at the European Center for the Validation of Alternative Methods (ECVAM Stake Holder Forum, ESTAF) and is a member of the German expert pool on OECD test guidelines.

Dr. Landsiedel’s contributions to the development of new testing methods and assessment tools for industrial and occupational toxicology have earned him the Herbert E. Stokinger Award.

Click here to view lecture.

Previous Award Recipients

  • 1977 — John A. Zapp, PhD
  • 1978 — Ralph C. Wands, CIH
  • 1979 — Henry F. Smyth, Jr., PhD
  • 1980 — Anna Baetjer, MD
  • 1981 — Ernest Mastromatteo, MD
  • 1982 — Hervey B. Elkins, PhD, CIH
  • 1983 — Theodore Torkelson, ScD
  • 1984 — Carrol S. Weil
  • 1985 — Roger O. McClellan, DVM
  • 1986 — Emil A. Pfitzer, ScD
  • 1987 — Robert T. Drew
  • 1988 — Melvin E. Andersen, PhD
  • 1989 — Mary O. Amdur, PhD, CIH
  • 1990 — Bernard Weiss, PhD
  • 1991 — Renate Kimbrough, MD
  • 1992 — John Doull, PhD, MD
  • 1993 — Morton Lippmann, PhD, CIH
  • 1994 — Robert Lauwerys, MD, ScD
  • 1995 — Cesare Maltoni, MD
  • 1996 — Elizabeth K. Weisburger, ScD, PhD
  • 1997 — Herbert E. Christensen, ScD, MPH
  • 1998 — Walter W. Melvin, Jr., ScD, MD
  • 1999 — Roy Ernest Albert, MD
  • 2000 — George M. Rusch
  • 2001 — Gunnar Johanson, Doctor of Medical Science
  • 2002 — Robert A. Scala, PhD
  • 2003 — Prof. Dr. med. Helmut Greim
  • 2004 — Hanspeter Witschi, MD
  • 2005 — B. Dwight Culver, MD
  • 2006 — Richard B. Schlesinger, PhD
  • 2007 — Gerald L. Kennedy, Jr., DABT
  • 2008 — Curtis D. Klaassen, PhD
  • 2009 — Vincent Castranova, PhD
  • 2010 — Bruce D. Naumann, PhD, DABT
  • 2011 — Len Levy OBE, PhD, FFOM, FBTS
  • 2012 — Michelle M. Schaper, PhD
  • 2013 — Günter Oberdörster, DVM, PhD
  • 2014 — Franklin E. Mirer, PhD, CIH
  • 2015 — Nigel Walker, PhD, DABT
  • 2016 — William D. Wagner
  • 2017 — John Cocker, PhD
  • 2018 — Mark D. Hoover, PhD, CHP, CIH
  • 2019 — Vincent Castranova, PhD