2021 William D. Wagner Award

2021 William D. Wagner Awardee

The William D. Wagner Award, established in 2003, is presented annually to a person in the field of national and international worker health and safety who is an outstanding example of commitment and dedication to the creation and dissemination of occupational exposure values (OEVs). Terry Gordon, PhD, MS is the 2021 recipient of the William D. Wagner Award.

Dr. Terry Gordon is a Professor of Environmental Medicine at the New York University (NYU) School of Medicine. He holds an M.S. in Toxicology from the University of Michigan and a Ph.D. in Toxicology from MIT, and was appointed to the faculty of the Department of Environmental Medicine in 1989.

Dr. Gordon joined ACGIH’s Chemical Substances – TLV Committee in 1999 and served as Chair of the Committee for 11 years. Dr. Gordon’s broad research interest has been in inhalation toxicology with a focus on the identification and understanding of the role of susceptibility factors in the adverse pulmonary effects produced by inhaled environmental and occupational agents.

Dr. Gordon has been an active member of the Society of Toxicology (SOT) and served as President of its Inhalation Specialty Section. He has served as a consultant/author to NIH, NASA, Bureau of Mines, and the EPA on issues of pulmonary toxicology related to the development of various documents, and served on EPA’s Clean Air Scientific Advisory Committee (CASAC) Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx), PM, and Sulfur Oxides (SOx) NAAQS Review Panels.

Dr. Gordon’s current research, supported by NHLBI, NIEHS, and NCI, examines the adverse health effects of alternative tobacco products and underground subway air pollution. He is also the Director of NYU’s NIEHS-supported Training Grant in Environmental Toxicology.

ACGIH is pleased to honor Dr. Gordon as the 2021 William D. Wagner Awardee. 


Previous Award Recipients

  • 2003 — Elizabeth K. Weisburger, ScD, PhD
  • 2004 — Daniel L. Johnson, PhD
  • 2005 — Vera F. Thomas, PhD
  • 2006 — Ernest Mastromatteo, CD, MD, DPH, DIH, FABPM (Occ Med), CCBOM, MFOM (London)
  • 2007 — Gerald V. Coles, CChem
  • 2008 — Masayuki Ikeda, PhD, MD
  • 2009 — B. Dwight Culver, MD
  • 2010 — D. Jack Lund
  • 2011 — Karl-Heinz Schaller
  • 2012 — Gerald L. Kennedy
  • 2013 — Thomas S. Tenforde, PhD
  • 2014 — Michael S. Morgan, ScD, CIH
  • 2015 — Robert Spirtas, DrPH
  • 2016 — Martin G. Cherniack, MPH, MD
  • 2017 — Larry K. Lowry, PhD
  • 2018 — David Michaels, PhD
  • 2019 — Thomas J. Armstrong, PhD, CIH
  • 2020 — John Cocker, PhD