2022 William D. Wagner Award

2022 William D. Wagner Awardee

The William D. Wagner Award, established in 2003, is presented annually to a person in the field of national and international worker health and safety who is an outstanding example of commitment and dedication to the creation and dissemination of occupational exposure values (OEVs). Thomas E. Bernard is the 2022 recipient of the William D. Wagner Award.

Thomas E. Bernard is a professor at the University of South Florida College of Public Health. During his time at the University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public Health in the early 1970s, Tom developed interests in heat stress and ergonomics, and protecting worker health and safety. His time at the US Bureau of Mines and Westinghouse Electric Corp cemented those interests. Joining USF in 1989 opened a greater opportunity for both laboratory and field research to refine his thinking on how the research is translated to practice.

With the recent interest in heat stress in the US, Tom is looking forward to contributing to the discussion. In addition to his efforts in exposure assessment, he hopes that his experience with alternative assessment methods, clothing and cooling systems, physiological monitoring, and management programs will add to the development of effective interventions.

Tom is thankful for the chance to serve ACGIH on the Physical Agents TLV Committee; for the early mentoring from Bob Patterson and Tom Armstrong; and for the opportunity to visit with Bill Wagner to discuss the ACGIH vision for TLVs. Importantly, he has great memories of and appreciates the learning opportunities and camaraderie with all the committee members.

Previous Award Recipients

  • 2003 — Elizabeth K. Weisburger, ScD, PhD
  • 2004 — Daniel L. Johnson, PhD
  • 2005 — Vera F. Thomas, PhD
  • 2006 — Ernest Mastromatteo, CD, MD, DPH, DIH, FABPM (Occ Med), CCBOM, MFOM (London)
  • 2007 — Gerald V. Coles, CChem
  • 2008 — Masayuki Ikeda, PhD, MD
  • 2009 — B. Dwight Culver, MD
  • 2010 — D. Jack Lund
  • 2011 — Karl-Heinz Schaller
  • 2012 — Gerald L. Kennedy
  • 2013 — Thomas S. Tenforde, PhD
  • 2014 — Michael S. Morgan, ScD, CIH
  • 2015 — Robert Spirtas, DrPH
  • 2016 — Martin G. Cherniack, MPH, MD
  • 2017 — Larry K. Lowry, PhD
  • 2018 — David Michaels, PhD
  • 2019 — Thomas J. Armstrong, PhD, CIH
  • 2020 — John Cocker, PhD
  • 2021 — Terry Gordon, PhD, MS